Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

im new to the guitar and need advice

User Imageguitarrokks100
10:14 pm Sunday
December 19, 2010
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
so i really want to master the guitar. i have an acoustic right now and so i wanted to get as much advice or knowledge on how to play, history of the acoustic guitar, diferent styles, types, etc.vso if you have anything that you think i should know feel free to tell me. if i already "know" something i will consider your thoughts and if they are the same as mine then it means im doing this right haha. Peace Guitar
User ImageMike Lindyn
12:08 pm Monday
December 20, 2010
Hi rokks,

Congrats on starting to play the acoustic guitar it´s a great instrument that is both beautiful and versatile. I play nylon string and steel string acoustics myself and while these are, generally speaking, the same instrument they are distinct enough that I kind of consider them different instruments.

Different styles of acoustic music and the history of acoustic guitar are VERY big subjects. However if I were to try and sum it in a couple of players, it would be the guys below:

Jimmy Page - Rock player: There are tons of great Led Zeppelin acoustic tracks: Over the Hills and Far Away, Babe I´m going to Leave You, and of course Stairway. Alot of what I hear on the radio today still sounds like elements of what Page did decades ago.

Chet Atkins - Finger style player: He played with EVERYBODY in his day. Played guitar using fingerpicks and most modern finger pickers owe this guy. Just about anything he does is technically incredible.

Andrés Segovia - Classical Player: This guy brought the acoustic guitar to prominence in classical music. Although the Lute was used before Segovia very few classical songs were written for the guitar.