Home | Tools & Resources | Lessons | Guitar Duels | Messageboard | Member Profiles | Search | Log In

TEACHING

User Imagejeremy
5:44 am Monday
December 19, 2005
Reply || Reply With Quote || Report
Im considering teaching a guitar group at a middle school. Im not really sure how many kids are in it or what their skill levels are so far but Im wondering what kind of curriculum would I wanna take these kids through? Im a self-taught dude. I learned a little bit about theory and modes an stuff like that but not so much. I know enough about that stuff that I could learn more about it if I had to though. Ive been playing for over 20 years and I know a lot of songs that I could teach them and Im fully into guitar solos so I could teach them that kinda stuff. Do you guys think that I could just teach them how to play songs/solos by ear or tab or do you think that it would be better to weigh into the theory more than I have at this point so that I can teach them that stuff?

Thanks for your thoughts.
User ImageBillyJack
8:13 am Monday
December 19, 2005
This sounds like it would be good opportunity to do a little theory training for yourself while instructing the student. There's a kick ass theory book called "Practical THEORY Complete, A SELF-INSTRUCTION MUSIC THEORY COURSE" by Sandy Feldstein that I'd recommend for just such a setting. It is laid out in 3~4 pages of study that take about 5 minutes a page to learn and then a review quiz. The whole book is laid out this way. Really simple and easy to use and understand.

If it were me, I'd break my time up into 3 parts.
1st) Music Theory = 20% of your allotted time. {tested weekly}
2nd) Getting to know the Guitar = 30% of your allotted time. {tested weekly} (Notes on the neck, tuning, things of that nature)
3rd) Beginners jam session = 50% of your allotted time. {No testing just play} (Simple melodies then basic chording of songs)

I laid this out assuming you will have between 30 minutes to an hour of lesson time.